Posted in Health

Where is your why? Uncovering your reasons to lead a healthier life

Is your why buried under years of wanting to look or feel better? Is it hidden behind multiple attempts to lose weight or be more active? Are you tired of trying to reach your health goals because you are so frustrated with the process? Wait..Am I starting to sound like an infomercial?

Well, my point is – let’s find your why, together. It’s in there somewhere.

If you are anything like me you may have launched into many attempts to get healthier with the best of intentions only to lose your motivation days or weeks later. I talk to people nearly everyday who want to be healthier but aren’t able to reach their goals. After hearing this multiple times I started to reflect on what keeps people from their goals. Over time I will tell you what I have discovered. What I can share with you now is that health is complex, as is life, however, the path to a healthier life can be simple.

We are constantly exposed to advertisements making promises about rapid (and often unrealistic) results. We hear about bootcamp style exercise programs and strict diets that are supposed to make your life better in a matter of weeks. Perhaps those programs work for some people, but not me. I need a plan that is simple and manageable for an average person.

It wasn’t until I truly understood that being healthy is a lifetime commitment that things shifted for me.  Yes, I have ups and downs and struggles with my health. None of those challenges bring me shame. Challenges are part of life, just as health is a journey never quite completed.

Today I am healthy, happy and confident. This was a result of moving through many obstacles with the support of friends and family.  I am acutely aware of what it feels like to be unhealthy and unhappy. So, I stay motivated. Health is something I am willing to fight for everyday.

The more I learn about health and behavior the more I come to understand and believe that first defining your “why” can help you be more successful in reaching your goals. So, I am giving you an assignment. Take a few minutes to think about why you want to be healthier. I want you to look at your reason closely. Try to make it as specific as you can.

If you have a specific area of focus i.e. weight loss or complete a 5k, try to understand why you want to lose that weight or what it is you expect to feel after you complete your 5k. I want you to imagine the life you want and what that looks like in relation to your health. Write it down in a few sentences and hang on to it, hang on tight. This might be the key to finally making the changes that help give you the life you want.

As always, I would love to hear from you. Message me here and I will get back to you as soon as I can.

2 thoughts on “Where is your why? Uncovering your reasons to lead a healthier life

  1. My why… I am the type that can not do something for myself but I can definitely do most things for those I care about and in doing that, regardless of what it is, I have noticed, it often has great results for me as well. My why is my family. I want to be around and able to do things with my child for sure. My goal, be consistent in exercise, regardless of the type, and be more diligent on what goes into my body… I am weak in this area for sure!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It sounds like you are clear on what you want and what you need to get it- consistent exercise and nutrition. I have been reminded recently that those two elements of health are crucial to honoring my “why”..

    Like

Leave a Reply

