Posted in eating, exercise, Health, holidays

Building a beach body in November: Who does that?

Well, I do, I guess. Perhaps more accurately, I think about building a beach body every November. Sometimes I kick up my workout routine and eat a little healthier but sometimes I don’t. This year I am going to have a plan- I just don’t know what it is yet. Hey, I still have one more day to get ready, right? It’s not November yet.

Let me tell you why I am thinking about a beach body in November when most of our country is packing away their summer suits. I have a wild and wonderful family that makes an annual trek south. We spend a couple of weeks on the beach sun bathing, eating, shopping, eating, celebrating, eating…you get the point. We take walks in the morning and drink wine at sunset. It’s pretty fabulous. However, by the end of it, I typically feel exhausted and ready to get home to detox.

This year I am going to pre-empt all of those holiday treats, beachside snacks and lost hours of sleep by preparing before we go. I want to feel strong and healthy going into vacation this year. Vacationing with forty people requires a lot of energy. It actually feels a little like an endurance event. So, I have some work to do.

I should also say that my version of a beach body looks a lot less like a magazine these days. A healthy beautiful body to me isn’t super thin and airbrushed to perfection. The beach body I want will allow me to take long walks with my awesome cousins and chase my little ones into the waves. The beach body I am working on will help me stay up past eight at night. I want to be awake so I can share conversations with some of the people I love most in this world.

I will keep you posted on my plan and progress.

As always, thanks for coming. I would love to hear from you. Message me here and I will get back to you as soon as I can.

 

6 thoughts on “Building a beach body in November: Who does that?

  1. We are on the same… well similar as my holiday no longer involves the beach…. page. My sister and I were just discussing being active going into the holidays, in order to more fully enjoy them!! Enjoy the prep and the beach.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Amie. I hope to post on my process and progress (hopefully) over the next few weeks. Let me know if you find a plan that is working well for you. I am always looking for new ways to liven up my workout routine or try a new path to health.

      Like

      1. I always hear people say, as a mother…. and in the case of exercise they say… As a mother get it in where and when you can. While I understand that, it has never worked for me, even before having a precious child. I subscribe to my dad’s way of thinking on getting things done. Do it first, rest later. So, with health, it’s right out of the gate in the morning hours. It doesn’t have to be strenuous but it has to be at least 30 mins. I do not focus on weight loss as that causes too much stress and pressure, instead I focus on how I feel which is always more balanced.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I think your greatest barrier will be staying up past 8, knowing you. I am so the opposite. Right now, because I have no set schedule and I’m not keeping myself busy enough, I am sleeping too much, but on the opposite schedule of you. I’m staying up until dawn and sleeping all day and sleeping 9+ hours. Even if I set the alarm, like I did today, I don’t get up. Good luck with changing. I think the only thing that works for me is getting a job. Interview tomorrow. Wish me luck.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Exercise early in the day is always my first choice. I am a morning person, and it makes me feel accomplished and strong when I am active in the morning.. What a great way to start the day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

