Posted in Health

Cookies for dinner

Yes. You heard right. I am eating cookies for dinner. They happen to be amazing, in case you were wondering. The delicious combination of chocolate and pumpkin is pretty sweet (pun intended).

I am telling you this, not as a confession, but as a lesson. I pack my lunch everyday I work but tonight I had to stay late. I packed lunch, but not dinner. So, cookies it is.

Lots of health professionals write about the importance of having a meal plan. Everyone needs to have healthy options on hand for situations such as this. I am typically diligent about making such plans – not today. The bad news is the cookies are going to make me feel horrible later. The good news is that tonight’s nutrition misstep is a great reminder for me to always make sure I have a back up plan.

I know this post is shorter than usual, but please forgive me, pure sugar isn’t quite the fuel my body needs.

Have a wonderful day. I would love to hear from you. Message me here and I will get back to you as soon as I can.

7 thoughts on “Cookies for dinner

    1. Yes. I know that “hangry” face well. Thank heavens you are almost always prepared with healthy snacks. I imagine you learned that lesson the hard way, but it has paid off in the long run.

      Like

  1. I had a 7up and sour cream and cheddar chips. I was exhausted and it was easiest. I too feel horrible but told myself to just let it go and start a new tomorrow. Off to bed I go, yes at 7pm, off to bed I go…. but that, I do not feel horrible about 🙂

    Like

  2. Amie – I see nothing wrong with a seven pm bedtime. That is only an hour before my regular bedtime. I think whatever it takes to get the rest you need.

    I hope you are feeling better this morning. I am not. Not yet anyway. I made a plan though (as I am sure you will see on my site). So, I remain hopeful. Thanks for being such a faithful reader. I really enjoy sharing this journey with you.

    Like

  3. Why do you feel horrible later? Guilt or physically? I love pumpkin cookies with chocolate chips (or raisins). You got your fiber, your fruit, your veg, you could even have them made with whole wheat flour and raw sugar or honey. I say, it’s not the worst choice you could have made. I’m a sugar addict and counting calories is as far as I really go diet wise in restricting what I eat. I say, it’s okay to not always have a backup plan, although I guess it is wise if you don’t feel good later.

    Like

  4. Great question Anthrograd – I feel horrible physically. I very rarely carry food guilt. I also absolutely agree that sweet treats can be healthy. I am even a huge fan of sweet treats even when they are not healthy. Perfection isn’t anywhere in my food or life plan. I do like to be a bit more intentional about my food choices than I was last night though. It like to avoid headaches and fatigue – two things that come when I eat a ton of sugar.

    Like

Leave a Reply

