Posted in Health

Navigating the corn maze of health

I love fall! Pumpkins, apples, cool days, festivals, colors and… corn mazes.

A few weeks ago my family went to a farm where they had a corn maze. My daughter and I had so much fun making our way through the corn maze taking wrong turns, going around in circles and eventually making our way out. I couldn’t bring myself to tell my daughter that we hadn’t actually found our way out of the maze. We had simply made so many turns we had just doubled back and exited the same place we had entered.

I was thinking about this in relation to my health journey over the past fifteen years. I have taken a number of turns on my path to better health. I was a vegan, a vegetarian, gluten-free, an avid hiker, a committed gym goer, a calorie and step counter and much more. All of these health paths worked for me at the time but aren’t part of my daily life now.

What occurred to me is that we all have our own “corn maze” of health. No one path will work for everyone and our paths can change over time to adjust to our needs and circumstances. No one way will work for everyone and no one way may work forever and that is not only ok, it’s exciting. This means we get the joy of new challenges and creating our own way- the way that works for us. This is but one more beautiful thing about the journey to better health.

So, best of luck in your corn maze of health.  I hope this fall brings you a healthy dose of sunshine, gorgeous colors and delicious autumn treats!

As always, I would love to hear from you. Message me here and I will get back to you as soon as I can.

 

4 thoughts on “Navigating the corn maze of health

  1. I am so glad you have a health hunt buddy! I have been thinking about the importance of community and support in obtaining better health. I believe it is essential! Thank you so for sharing my post. I would love to have our community grow.

    Like

  2. Community is definitely at the heart of the health path! 100% agreed. My path right now consists of navigating the many life choices I have to make. I’ve been practicing yoga for 10 + years and I’m still trying to come to a place of calm. Here’s the catch, there’s no such finish line. We will always be “navigating” the path, making choices, rooting and rising. I know it helps that I am now aware of this and I can continue to make decisions based on how I am authentically touched, moved and inspired in the moment.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

