Posted in Health, New years

Happy new year, sort of

Ok. Ok. It’s obviously not the new year, we are still a few months away from fireworks at midnight. I just thought I would get a head start on all of the January gym goers and resolvers. Kidding! I support anyone’s effort to improve their health no matter what time of year it is.

The truth is, I want a solid plan for when January 1 rolls around. Plus, as you know, if you’ve been reading my blog, this is my birthday month. So it is a “new year” of my life. What is this year going to look like? I have some thoughts.

I think I’ll take the whole pie. Wait,  wait! Get your mind out of the food gutters. I mean the whole pie chart, the wellness pie chart. I want to make sure that I don’t neglect any of the dimensions of wellness which I beleive are essential to overall health. Those include: physical, spiritual, occupational, social, emotional, environmental and intellectual. I’d like to take this year to look at each of those pieces of the pie and make sure that I’m not forgetting any of it on my health journey.  I intend to take some time to work on making a solid plan.

Right now my top contenders of areas to focus on are spiritual or occupational, any thoughts? What about you? Are you working to improve any particular area of your wellness? Are there any areas of your wellness that have long been forgotten? What is your first step going to be?

As always, I would love to hear from you. Message me here and I will get back to you as soon as I can.

 

6 thoughts on “Happy new year, sort of

  1. I’m starting with short-term goals by the week.. This week I weighed and I shot for tracking my food intake daily and getting some sort of exercise or movement on a daily basis. First weight loss goal is 5 pounds. Then I will re-set those goals for the next 5 pounds. I think I might have more success that way. Tomorrow will mark the week, so I will see how I did. I may not have done traditional exercise daily, but when you weigh as much as I do, simple housecleaning and just getting my arse off the couch and moving is enough to get my heart racing and blood pumping. My aim is to lose weight so that I can walk easier, get up easier, do things easier and feel like doing more things.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am in continual motion on basically each of these areas. Problem is – consistency. I find, for me, for whatever reason, if I am making sure to do some physical exercise (which does not have to be strenuous and unfortunately is sporadic) then the rest usually falls in line. I enjoy the routine that comes when I am consistent but it’s the things that throw off that routine that cause me to be inconsistent.

    Like

    1. Me too Amie!! Let me know if you find the solution. I am working on a plan to kickstart my health/wellness in the right direction. I will be writing about it here.

      Like

  3. I love the idea of the whole pie chart! You really do need to take daily slices of each and even when a chunk of pie seems much heartier than others, we shouldn’t beat ourselves up. That’s been the key for me. Struggle lately has been getting out of work/gradschool/part-time jobs early enough to find the energy to exercise. My conscious choice? Get up 10 minutes earlier and start my day seated, breathing, and letting go. …. Happy BIRTHDAY, Mary! We love and support you. Thank you for supporting us from cyberspace.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

