Posted in celebration, Health

Happy birthday month to me

Yep. I said birthday month! I honestly think the best way to have an awesome birthday is to celebrate it yourself. I do this a few ways. I talk incessantly about my upcoming birthday, I buy myself presents and throw myself parties. Yes, I really do this for all of October.

Of course this goes against our cultural norm, we are taught to wait for people to sing us happy birthday and buy us the perfect present. That doesn’t work for me for two reasons. One, I find being sung to exceedingly awkward and two, no one knows better what presents that I want than me.

All right, so maybe this seems a little bit selfish but consider that being a little self-focused is exactly what we need, particularly as it relates to health. I was reflecting on my tendency to buy myself a present or ten during October and what that might sound like to other people. What you should know is, celebrating myself briefly each year brings me a lot of joy, so I don’t feel bad about it and I am going to keep doing it.

My point is, putting one’s  needs and health first might seem selfish but realistically it’s the most important gift we can give to ourselves and to our family.

So, happy birthday month to me and I hope you give yourself a gift this month for the fun of it. (You can do it as practice for your birthday month). Maybe it’s a tiny chocolate brownie or maybe it’s a walk in the gorgeous fall weather, maybe it’s a little of both. I will let you decide.

As always, I would love to hear from you! Message me here and I will get back to you as soon as I can.

4 thoughts on “Happy birthday month to me

  1. Yay! Anthrograd, I am glad to know you are celebrating yourself too and that I am not alone. I think of you often when I write! Thanks for reading. It means a lot to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

