Posted in Health, sleep, Uncategorized

I just want a nap: sleep, monsters and health

When I was expecting my first daughter I was very overwhelmed. I felt completely out of my comfort zone. At that point in my life I had accomplished quite a bit academically, professionally, and personally, but none of those accomplishments prepared me to accept a new child in my life.

I remember talking to a friend and I asked what advice she had for the coming months as my daughter’s due date was rapidly approaching. She said, “get as much sleep as you can”. Of course, this advice didn’t quite seem what I was looking for, but in retrospect, I fully understand what she was actually telling me, “get as much sleep as you can [because you may never sleep again]”. This is a slight exaggeration of course, but it isn’t too far from the truth.

Here is an example. Last night I slept in my bed, on the couch, in a chair and on my daughter’s floor………….oh, and on my desk this morning. Each member of my family woke up last night multiple times for a variety of reasons. Over the past few years, illness, teething and monsters under the bed have all stolen my sleep. We know that sleep is important for so many reasons. The National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute outlines some of those reasons here.  There are some things we can control and some things we can’t, but today/tonight I fully intend to prioritize sleep. If that means I go to bed without checking my email, watching my favorite show or folding the laundry, then so be it. This girl needs to sleep.

So, if you will excuse me, I am going to chug another cup of coffee while it’s still early.

Have a fabulous day! If you like my posts please follow me to get notices when I write, share a link to my site or leave me a comment. You can learn a little more about me here. I would love to hear from you. What is or isn’t working on your your journey to better health?

Check out my the library page to see what resources that have influenced my health journey.

One thought on “I just want a nap: sleep, monsters and health

Leave a Reply

