Posted in bocce ball, celebration, corn hole, eating, exercise, holidays

Boom! Boom! Boom! Keepin’ it healthy on holidays

Happy fourth everyone! I hope you have amazing plans today. Here in the south it looks like we are gonna be grilling in the rain. Oh well, I like to view new experiences as adventures. At least that is the attitude I am hoping to keep today- even under my umbrella.

Holidays are always a little tricky when it comes to health. The Fourth of July isn’t usually as difficult as the barrage of holiday madness in the fall and winter but red, white and blue treats will certainly make their appearance today.

You know from my other posts that I try to keep what I eat on the healthy side of things but have no shame when it comes to the occasional delicious indulgence. The Fourth will be no different. I won’t eat the “crack” cookies with tons of artificial dyes that will surely be available, but I will have a scoop (or two) of homemade potato salad without any hesitation. Our hamburgers are organic grass fed beef but the chips and salsa aren’t. Health isn’t about perfection for me it’s about making the best out of options available and truly taking the time to celebrate life, love, and for one day a year our beloved country.

In addition to food challenges I also find exercise can be difficult to accomplish on on holidays. Commitments and preparation can take a lot of my time on days of celebration. I think this is where creativity and a willingness to get out of my comfort zone come in handy.

I find that family walks after mealtimes can be a fun way to work in a little activity while spending time with loved ones. Also, I think summer holidays are a great time to get involved in yard games. Corn hole and bocce ball are games I am terrible at but willing to play for the movement and fun of sharing time with family. Finally, if I find myself needing to move then I find the kids. Volunteering to watch the little ones or joining games of the bigger ones will certainly keep me out of my seat.

I hope today you soak in every moment of celebration, fireworks and freedom my friends! I know I will.

Have a fabulous day! If you like my posts please follow me to get notices when I write, share a link to my site or leave me a comment. You can learn a little more about me here. I would love to hear from you. What is or isn’t working on your your journey to better health?

Also, Check out my the library page to see what resources that have influenced my health journey.

2 thoughts on “Boom! Boom! Boom! Keepin’ it healthy on holidays

  1. Happy 4th Mary! I’m up early (for me), so I might even get a walk in before the festivities begin or the heat gets too bad. If I don’t, maybe a walk with my nieces and great-nieces will happen after dinner. If it doesn’t, then it doesn’t and I will be okay with that too. I’ve been walking every day and I found this chair exercise video on youtube that give this middle-aged woman a workout, so I’m increasing my activity level. Have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Barb! I am so excited to hear that you have been walking everyday. I LOVE to walk and am firmly convinced that it is one of the best things we can do for our bodies. It’s wonderful that you found the chair workout too. I just love it when I find a routine that really works for me. I hope your time with your nieces and great-nieces is awesome.

    Like

Leave a Reply

