Posted in Health

Waking up- literally

Snowbeauty

I am a morning person. I get up early primarily so I can be alone. I like to take a minute to breathe before the day rushes in and makes its demands on me. I roll out of bed before the sun comes up so I can enjoy my coffee hot. I appreciate the silence of the day before our house is filled with action. I have been the first out of bed before the rest of my family for a long time. It was only recently, however, that I fully realized the value of this time as it relates to my health. I began to approach each morning with intention. I realized in my busy and sometimes downright crazy life, no time can be wasted.

So, in response to this I began doing several things. First, I drink a glass of water (while I am waiting for my coffee to brew). I then take a few minutes just to breathe. When was the last time you did this? It’s actually way more helpful than it sounds. Finally, I do a little exercise, nothing big, usually just a few push-ups or squats and/or some of my favorite yoga poses. That is it. This whole process can take as little as 15 minutes to complete but has a huge impact on my day.

Since starting this mini-morning routine I have begun to feel much more prepared to take on the day. I notice I approach my day with much more optimism and energy. I know not everyone loves mornings. So, if nothing else, you could take a few deep breathes shortly after getting out of bed and call it good. I encourage you to carve out this tiny space for yourself before you launch into your day. That grocery list, the kids’ lunches and those emails can wait long enough for you to find your focus and take care of yourself even if it is in a very small way. Give it a try and see if it makes any difference. I would love to hear how it goes.

Have a fabulous day and please know I am hoping the best for you as you continue on your journey to better health. If you are interested in learning a little more about me – look here.

2 thoughts on “Waking up- literally

  1. Yogic philosophy says that we are given a certain amount of breaths in a lifetime. If you think about your morning routine, and the actual physical action of “taking a few minutes just to breath”, you are on the path to live a long life. I certainly hope so, sis.

    Continue to be mindful of your inhales and exhales, even long after morning is gone… practice and I’ve no doubt your breath will help lead you (and all of us, as a matter of fact) into deeper humility, consciousness, passion, inspiration and expansiveness. Love your blog, truly.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarahmckbee – I find all of those things to be true when I find and feel my breath. It’s such as simple and profound experience all at once. Thank you for reading.

    Like

Leave a Reply

